“Gage County was established and its boundaries redefined by an act of the Legislature approved March 16, 1844; reestablished and redefined January 26, 1856. The county was named after William D. Gage (1803-55), Methodist minister and chaplain of the first Territorial Legislature. He was one of the commissioners appointed to locate the Gage County seat.” (Perkey’s Place Names, revised 2003).

No pictures can be found online of Reverend Gage. But he must have made quite the impression.

County Seat: Beatrice “Named in honor of Julia Beatrice Kinney, eldest daughter of Judge J.F. Kinney. Beatrice won county seat in election with Blue Springs in 1859. The town grew when a mill was set up on the Big Blue River by Fordyce Roper in July 1857.” Perkey’s Place Names, revised 2003).

Homestead National Monument is in Gage County Nebraska

One of the most important sites in Gage County is the Homestead National Monument.



Author: neodyssey

My name is Gretchen Garrison. I started this blog about Nebraska in 2013. So far, I have written three books about Nebraska and Lincoln.