Morrill County is “named in honor of Charles Henry Morrill (1843-1928), regent of the University of Nebraska. Originally a part of Cheyenne County, it was established at the general election November 3, 1908, and proclaimed by Governor George L. Sheldon, November 12, 1908.” (Perkey’s Place Names, revised 2003). In the picture below of the 1896 University of Nebraska regents, Charles Morrill is second to the left in the front row.

Morrill County is named for Charles Henry Morrill former

Morrill County Seat: Bridgeport

Morrill County Population: 4, 555 (as of 2020 census)

A notable woman passed through Nebraska and is featured on a Nebraska Historical Marker.

A marker for Narcissa Whitman is found in Morrill County

More to come …

Author: neodyssey

My name is Gretchen Garrison. I started this blog about Nebraska in 2013. So far, I have written three books about Nebraska and Lincoln.